Public Document Pack



Supplement for

DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE - WEDNESDAY, 22ND MAY, 2024

Agenda No Item

4. Appointment of Sub Committees Lowlands and Uplands (Pages 5 - 8)

Included is the political balance on planning sub-committees and the list of members nominated by political groups to sit on the Lowlands Area Planning Sub-Committee and the Uplands Area Planning Sub-Committee.

In previous years the Committee has appointed members to sub-committees based on ward area rather than political proportionality.

The Constitution (Part 3C) states that both sub-committees must have a minimum of 11 members, with the Chair of the Development Control Committee being appointed to both sub-committees.

Based on the nominations received from political groups, if the Committee agrees to appoint members to sub-committees based on ward area rather than political proportionality and the Committee elects a Chair who represents a ward in the uplands area, there will only be 10 members appointed to the Uplands Sub-Committee. In this scenario the Committee would be recommended to agree an additional recommendation 7.

Additional recommendation 7:

7. Request that the Constitution Working Group revisits the rule on the sizes of the planning sub-committees.

Annex A: Political Balance on Planning Sub-Committees

The tables below set out the political proportionalities on the lowlands and uplands subcommittees if these sub-committee were to be appointed based on political balance rather than ward representation. The total number of seats on the two sub-committees is 25 which assumes that the Chair of the Development Control Committee would be appointed to both sub-committees, as in previous years.

Table 1: Political proportionality on the Lowlands Sub-Committee (14-Member Sub-Committee)

Group	Liberal Democrat	Conservative	Labour	Green	Total
Real entitlement	6.00	3.71	3.14	1.14	14
Rounded entitlement	6	4	3	I	14
Seats allocated	6	4	3	I	14

 Table 2: Political proportionality on the Uplands Sub-Committee (11-Member Sub-Committee)

Group	Liberal Democrat	Conservative	Labour	Green	Total
Real entitlement	4.71	2.92	2.47	0.90	11
Rounded entitlement	5	3	2	I	11
Seats allocated	5	3	2	I	11

This page is intentionally left blank

Committee (No. of seats)	Liberal Democrat Group	Conservative Group	Labour Group	Green Group
Lowlands Area Planning Sub-Committee (14)	 Andy Goodwin Phil Godfrey Alistair Wray David Melvin Steve Cosier 	 Michele Mead Nick Leverton Adrian Walsh Sarah Veasey 	 1. Michael Brooker 2. Rachel Crouch 3. Joy Aitman 4. Andrew Lyon 	I. Andrew Prosser
Uplands Area Planning Sub- Committee (10)	 Julian Cooper Lidia Arciszewska David Jackson Adam Clements Hugo Ashton 	 Andrew Beaney Roger Faulkner 	I. Mark Walker 2. Geoff Saul	I. Rosie Pearson

This page is intentionally left blank